Who is your boss?

Today is Labor Day, a national holiday, in the United States. If you are unfamiliar with the holiday, according to the Department of Labor website (www.dol.gov), this is the background behind it:

Labor Day, the first Monday in September, is a creation of the labor movement and is dedicated to the social and economic achievements of American workers. It constitutes a yearly national tribute to the contributions workers have made to the strength, prosperity, and well-being of our country.

I go to work each day. Somedays I work at my home; preparing my family for the day, making meals and cleaning our house. Other days I work at my paid job. Whatever my job at hand, it’s important to remember which “man” I’m working for. I prefer to think of it as not “working for the man”, but working for The Man. By “The Man”, I mean God.

no sleepin thecity

Maybe your boss is sucking the life out of you. Maybe you have been working 50-60 hours a week with no end in sight. Maybe you are a stay-at-home parent who has cleaned up toys on the floor for the 5th time today. Wherever you are in life, please know that you work for a higher power. So, hold you head up high and remember that your true reward is in heaven, with a father who loves you during your commute, while changing a poopy diaper and when you are in tears because you can’t it another day in your dead-end job. God has a reason for placing you right where you are, right now.  So this labor day, take a 5-minute break for yourself. Take a walk, use the restroom with the door locked (if you have young kids you know what I mean) or sip a cup of coffee on your patio. I pray that you know how much how you are valued.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

Leave a Reply

