Give, give, then give again!

The word giving is defined via wikipedia as: the transfer of something without the expectation of receiving something in return. Have you given anything today? Think hard, but I bet you have. Maybe you smiled at a stranger at the grocery today or held the door open for a classmate. In that case, you gave them love. Giving can take many forms; it can be a tangible or intangible gift. The most important thing to remember about giving, though, is that both the giver and receiver acquire a gift.

I was in 4th grade and it was the Christmas season. Our girl scout troop had collected and wrapped gifts for a local orphanage. One Saturday morning we delivered those gifts and watched the children open them. It was a room packed full of kids my age.  I can remember where I sat in the room and more specifically the feeling that I had in my heart that day. It was a feeling that I had never experienced. I was giving something and expecting nothing in return. I did receive a gift though. I received the gift of a full heart. That is why God calls us to help. Jesus’ love is demonstrated in our action and we leave the situation with a yearning to continue giving.

I will never forget the feeling I had that December of 1982 and I recognize it every time I give one of my gifts. May God bless each of us with a giving heart so that no only do we bless the receiver, but we are left with a yearning to do it again.

No one has ever-2

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

Leave a Reply

