What is YOUR verse?

ephes. png

Frogs. Have you ever gotten warts from them? I haven’t and I have held lots of frogs in my lifetime. Some of us grew up believing that same lie though, didn’t we? Our parents and grandparents innocently fed us this lie (probably because they just didn’t want us holding them in the first place). After hearing that same lie over and over again, we begin to believe that it is actually true.

Someone else feeds us lies. His name is Satan and his goal is very much to distance us from God. He speaks nothing BUT lies. Everyday he feeds you the same lies, hoping that after a while, just like the frog and warts lie, you’ll begin to believe it as truth. Satan’s lies are very specific each individual. Your lie may be that your marriage will never improve, that your kids will never turn their lives around or that you just aren’t talented enough to find a new job and leave the one you hate.

My challenge this week to you is to flip the lie that the evil one fills your head with. Begin to fill your spirit with the word of God and your mind will soon follow. The same power that raised Jesus from the dead is available to you through the healing powers of God’s word. God’s word has the power to tear down the walls of Satan’s lies.

…how incredibly great his power is to help those who believe him. It is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead…

Ephesians 1:19-20 TLB

The lie that Satan tells me (among others I”m sure) is that I am not a good public speaker. I have held many leadership roles in my life and have certainly had plenty of opportunity to embrace this skill. I have done fine at some points and really struggled with this at other times. I have used a particular bible verse to combat this lie. I know God wants me to succeed and this bible verse reminds me of this:

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength

Philippians 4:13

This verse may be your verse too as it is one that can be applied, quite honestly, to almost any situation. God doesn’t say ‘you only have Christ’s strength while driving through rush hour traffic or during a job interview’. It says  ‘I can do ALL things’.

I challenge you this week to come up with the bible verse that you will bathe you heart and mind in. His words are alive in you and have the power to reverse the lies you are being fed. Your life will change.

Please comment below what YOUR empowering bible verse is. Your verse may be just what another reader needs to see.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

>

Leave a Reply

