Can you give up your net?

As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. “Come, follow me, ” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.” At once they left their nets and followed him.

Have you ever thought about the significance of the net in this verse? Simon/Peter and Andrew dropped more than just a physical net that day. They left their jobs, their friends and their place in society, just to name a few. They trusted God to take care of them and it changed their lives for all eternity.

What is your “net”?  What do you need to let go of in order to devote more time and energy in your walk with Jesus?

There are too many “nets” for me personally to list, so I’ll list my top 3 :-).

net

1. Entitlement:

1 Timothy 6:6

Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment

Bottom line: a sense of entitlement has prevented me from experiencing contentment. Let me explain.

I graduated from pharmacy school after 6 grueling years. The thought of a handsome salary at the end of my tenure was what kept me studying on those long nights at the library, as well as the thought of a nice new car and the status that would come with that. Stupid, I know. Unfortunately my sense of entitlement didn’t stop there. I had worked so hard in school to achieve this nice salary that I felt I was entitled to nice vacations and a nice home. But I was missing out on the big picture. I was always wanting more and more and not allowing myself to become content. It wasn’t until we found ourselves in credit card debt and living paycheck to paycheck that I said enough is enough. I remembered a Dave Ramsey book that I had in my closet that my sister had given me a few years back. I dug it out and read it in one day. That book gave me hope that I could gain control of my money. You see, money was starting to control my life, not the other way around. We now live on a written budget that my husband I have agreed upon. I still have money to spend, but within a controlled environment and I don’t have to worry that I’ve overspent each month and there won’t be enough left for groceries. I have outgrown this sense of entitlement and traded it in for contentment and I couldn’t be happier. I’ve traded in fancy dinners on Friday nights for our weekly family movie night. We all look forward to this night and the memories that we are creating together. I’ve dropped my net of entitlement in exchange for a Godly life that only one with a content heart can appreciate!

  1. Disorganization

Bottom line: When I don’t have a plan, it doesn’t happen!

I know the devil is at the root of this one; telling me that I’ll have time later or that something else is more important. I posted last Monday on ways to start and stick to studying the bible. I admittedly need help in this area. Every week my work schedule is different, which doesn’t help my cause. I really like these 3 strategies in sticking to a bible study plan: Prioritize your study, pair it with something you already do every day and plan for it! I would like to throw my “net” of disorganization into a fiery pit!! It frequently stands in the way of me and my alone time with God. Using the 3 P’s above are key for me.

2. Fear

I hate to say it, but I’m a little scared of being pushed out of my comfort zone. I know God has big plans for my life, but what if they make me feel uncomfortable? If I start listening to my “God voice” and it urges me to do something I’m uncomfortable with, what will I do? Trust God; that’s what I’ll do. After all, He’s got my back! Admittedly I struggle in this area, but I’m learning that God will equip me with what I need to accomplish the job that he wants me to complete. My son has ADHD. Dealing with healthcare providers, counselors and school educators has pushed me well out of my comfort zone. I hate confrontation of any type, but God has given me the words to use in each situation for the betterment of my child, while retaining a Christian attitude in the process. I am a much more confident parent because I have trusted God in these personally fearful situations.

Is your “net” made of thoughts of entitlement, disorganization or fear of the unknown? Maybe your “nets” are completely different than mine. Please know that you are not alone in your struggles to put God in the center of your world. Trust Him with whatever net you are holding onto. He can make “fishermen of people” out of you and me….regardless of our tattered nets.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

Leave a Reply

