Uncomfortable blessing

I love Jesus and Jesus loves you!

I had just left the gym and was sitting in my car checking my messages. Out of the corner of my eye, I see someone approach my door. It was 20-ish year old girl in her pajamas and wrapped in a flannel blanket. I rolled down the window a few inches. She said “ma’am, I’ve just been kicked out of my house and I need $1 to ride the bus downtown”.

Admittedly, these situations make me uncomfortable. I don’t know why, but they just do. As I started to fumble around my car for $1, I asked her what had happened to her. She explained that her dad’s new girlfriend threw her out and her dad just sat there and did nothing. I told her that I hoped that she had someplace warm to go (it’s only a high of 20 degrees here today).

Now I had 2 choices in this situation: 1. Give her the money or 2. Don’t give her the money. Plain and simple, this is how I see this situation: I’m called to love and not judge. I could sit around all day and judge this girl and imagine all the ways she was planning to spend the money I gave her OR I could give her the money and trust God to take care of the rest. I did the latter and it felt good.

As I handed her the money, I patted her hand and said “I love Jesus and Jesus loves you”. I hope she knows that truth.  It’s 100% true.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

2 thoughts on “Uncomfortable blessing

Leave a Reply

