What is your gift?

puzzle3Yesterday I picked my children up from school. On the way home, my 9 year-old son says “Mom, why does everyone in my class play sports but me?”. I should tell you that he has played many sports in his short life, and somehow, he momentarily forgot that he runs cross country and likes golf. I do grow very weary, however, and I’m sure he does too, of the pressure that society puts on boys, in particular, to both like and play sports. Have you ever observed the pajama section at your local clothing store for young boys? Approximately 90% of the selection involves sports. (end rant :-))

The question posed by my son was one of those parental moments where you pause and say a quick prayer for the right response.  Then it came to me. I said, “God gives us each our own special gifts. None of us were created exactly the same. You are gifted in the area of music and art and your sister is gifted in dance, for example. If we all had the same talents, wouldn’t life be boring?”. He was much comforted by my response and I was thankful that God gave me the right words to use in that moment.

Romans 12:6 tells us this: In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out with as much faith as God has given you.

For some, their Godly given talents are apparent at a young age. It may be because their parents were gifted in that area and genetically they are too (like the Manning dynasty). It’s taken me many years of figuring out what my gifts are. I am a natural optimist. It was after listening to hours and hours of podcasts from Dave Ramsey (founder of Financial Peace University, author, speaker) that I began to think more deeply about what MY gifts are. That really is the reason that I started this blog. My hope is to use my optimism and love for Jesus to inspire others to make a difference in their own lives and in the lives of others.

Want to figure out your Godly given gifts? First, I would suggest that you pray about it. I asked God to reveal to me the gifts that he has given me. I figured my maker knows best! Secondly, ask your friends, co-workers and family (although they may be a little biased) if they can list a few words to best describe your positive qualities.

God wants us to use our gifts for the betterment of His kingdom here on Earth. We all have a piece to contribute to the puzzle of life.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

2 thoughts on “What is your gift?

Leave a Reply

