40th birthday an intentional blessing?!

proverbs

As I stand in front of the mirror, plucking grey hairs from my head that look like they’ve been electrocuted, I wonder, how in the world am I 40?! I’m not sure how I got here, just yesterday I was 20 (ha ha)!  Quite honestly, though, I finally feel like I’m “coming into my own”.

Turning 40, unlike turning 30 or 20, has given me more of a sense of purpose, an intentionality if you will. So much so, that I feel like that is my new mantra: Be Intentional. This means being more intentional with my money, relationships, health and religion.

I have outlined several keys to help you be more intentional. Over the next few weeks, I will explore the different aspects of my life that have flourished as a result of my new mantra: Be Intentional!

1. Plan! Plan! Plan!

This is obviously the most important part of being intentional. No matter what area of your life you desire to be more intentional in, you need a plan. Each Sunday night, I print off a weekly planner and tape it to the door leading out to our garage. It’s a quick reminder of the things that need to occur this week, as well as what days I work (to remind my husband 🙂 and the meals that we will be having for the week. There is something about putting a plan into writing; it’s more likely to be completed! . On weeks that I have neglected to do this, I feel like I am riding a wave to nowhere and at any moment will be knocked off my surfboard due to my lack of planning. Here is a link to my pdf: Weekly planner PDF.

2. God wants us to be planners

For which one of you, when he wants to build a tower does not first sit down and calculate the cost to see if

he has enough to complete it? Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish it,

all who observe it begin to ridicule him, saying, “This man began to build and was not able to finish.”
Luke 15:28-30

We can’t complete our task at hand if we do not adequately plan for it. God wants us to be intentional and prayerfully ask for His guidance. I don’t know how many times in my younger years that I would get an idea (not pray about it) and plow through my plans like a bull in a china shop only to leave the project undone and personally left with regret. Leaving God out of your plans is mistake #1. Pray over your ideas and thoughts. Talk to God. He is always listening and eager to direct you.

3. Give yourself grace

I feel like I am always preaching about giving ourselves grace. I think it’s because I’m trying to remind myself of just that. If I fall off the wagon today, I’m not a failure. I’ll climb back onto tomorrow and not look back. Sometimes those days when I fail at my intended plan is confirmation that I like where I’m headed on the “intentional days”.

This week, I pray for prayer-driven intentionality in your life and in mine. May your life be an inspiration to others.

-Remember to liveHislove,

Missy

Leave a Reply

